Free Trade Agreement in Central Europe – CEFTA 2006

On 19 December 2006, Serbia signed an agreement with another eight countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia and UNMIK / Kosovo as customs territory in accordance with UNSC Resolution 1244) ) became a member of CEFTA 2006, a unique multilateral Free Trade Agreement in South East Europe. From January 1st 2007, Bulgaria and Romania became members of the European Union and left CEFTA. All other members of the Agreement started its implementation on November 22, 2007. The new CEFTA 2006 agreement has replaced the network of 32 bilateral free trade agreements that have been in place since 2001.

The CEFTA Agreement defines general obligations relating to the trade of all goods. It’s a general rule that quantitative restrictions and duties and other duties on exports and imports of goods in trade between countries in the Region will be abolished, and that new restrictions will not be established.

The agreement processed: technical barriers in trading, as well as new areas which were not treated by bilateral free trade agreements: trade in services, investments, public procurement, protection of intellectual property rights and arbitration in case of dispute.

Operational rules on the origin of goods are also defined (Annex 4), cooperation of the customs administration, the rules of competition and state aid, as well as rules of protection.

Look at the review of the complete documentation:

  1. Free Trade Agreement in Central Europe – CEFTA 2006
  2. Annex I and Annex IV of the CEFTA Agreement 2006
  3. Additional Protocol of CEFTA